Book Review: Tiger Temple by Steven Moore

Today I am bringing you a review as part of a small blog tour for Steve Moore’s book, Tiger Temple. It is the first in the ‘Hiram Kane Adventure Series’ and was published at the end of last year.

Date Started:

Date Finished:

Purchase Links: Amazon UK

Blurb:

A betrayed criminal. A kidnapped child. A deadly race against time.

On the Island of the Gods, expedition leader Hiram Kane is on holiday after a long season guiding in the Peruvian Andes. When a good friend’s greed leads him to betray Bali’s most notorious gangster, their peaceful community is left shell-shocked after the six-year-old daughter of its leader gets kidnapped in a vicious and violent raid.

What follows is a whirlwind race across the paradise island to rescue the girl before ‘The Rooster’ takes his sadistic revenge, and with the waking giant of volcanic Mt. Agung threatening to destroy them all, Kane risks everything to prevent a devastating tragedy.

The Tiger Temple is the exciting new starter to the Hiram Kane adventure series. For fans of Russell Blake and Clive Cussler, Steven Moore’s action thriller will leave you breathless.

About the Author:


Steven Moore grew up (apparently) by a beach in England. An avid (average) sportsman, painter, photographer and reader, those loves were only trumped by his love of travel and writing. To date he has visited 53 countries, and has lived and worked on five continents. Highlights include trekking in the Andes and Himalayas, scuba diving all over the world, teaching English in Korea, and eating anything and everything, wherever he happens to be. Oh yes, and sampling local beers, obviously.

Steven now lives in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico with his wife, freelance journalist Leslie Patrick Moore, and though they’ve atlast found a beautiful home base, the next adventure is always just around the corner.

Steven has recently published the first three installments of his action thriller series, ‘The Tiger Temple’, ‘TheSamurai Code’, and ‘The Condor Prophecy’, to great acclaim, and the 4th, ‘The Shadow of Kailash’, is coming in spring of 2018.

Moore has a crisp, economical style, and sets the scene well. The story, while bleak, is shot through with moments of pathos…compelling from start to finish” – Mark Dawson (bestselling author of the John Milton, Beatrix Rose, Isabella Rose and Soho Noir series)

To follow Steven’s writing career and learn about new releases, go to his imaginatively named author website, ‘Steven Moore, Author.’

My Review:

I’ve never been to Bali, at least I haven’t physically but I now feel as if I have as Moore’s writing really enveloped me and made me feel as if I was there!

This is a novella, the first in a series to introduce the reader to the main character, Hiram Kane and I feel it is done really well. He is a tough guy, not unlike Jack Reacher in that he wants to help people and is all action and couple that with a volcano ready to erupt and you will soon realise that you’re in for a great story and a bumpy ride!

I really enjoyed this novella and will definitely be adding the next in the series to my Wishlist! I would definitely recommend it to fans of Adventure (think Indiana Jones) and people that like stories told in foreign lands that they one day hope to visit .. as long as it doesn’t give you too much wanderlust!

Thank you to Steve and his publishers for giving me a copy of this book to read.

Rating:

Please follow and like us:

Cover Reveal: Monster’s Best 2019

Today I am bringing yo the brand new cover for “Monster’s Best 2019”. The cover has been designed by Monster House Books and this cover reveal is organized by Lola’s Blog Tours.


Genre: Non-fiction and fiction short story collaboration

Publisher: Monster House Books

Release Date: August 6, 2019

Blurb:

Monster House Books publishes a compilation of short stories featuring fierce females. Our 2019 edition includes new stories by best-selling authors Christina Bauer, Genevieve Iseult Eldredge, and Majanka Verstraete! Plus, we’re searching through hundreds of new author submissions in order to select a handful of the most creative and compelling short stories to add in to the mix. To have your work considered for the 2019 edition of MONSTER’S BEST, please send your short story (50 pages or less) to info@monsterhousebooks.com.

You can find Monster’s Best 2019 on Goodreads

Or check out Monster’s Best 2019 on the site of Monster House Books

You can pre-order Monster’s Best 2019 for free here on Amazon

About the Authors:


Authors of Monster’s Best 2019 include best-selling authors Christina Bauer, Genevieve Iseult Eldredge, and Majanka Verstraete, as well as potentially you! Submit your short stories (50 pages or less) to info@monsterhousebooks.com!

Giveaway:

Monster House Books is running a giveaway to celebrate their most recent cover reveals and releases with multiple prizes! There will be 6 different winners. These are the prizes you can win:

  • a cupcake topper
  • a shirt
  • a journal
  • a ring
  • a mug
  • an e-copy of Study in Shifters

For a chance to win, enter the Rafflecopter giveaway.

Please follow and like us:

Book Review: Another One by Tony Faggioli

Today I am reviewing “Another One” by *Tony Faggioli*.

Date Finished: 10th June 2018

Purchase Links: Amazon UK

Genre: Supernatural Thriller

Date Published: Nov 30th, 2017

Publisher: Atticus Creative, Inc.

Blurb:

Detective Evan Parker is being haunted by the past. After two tours in the Afghanistan War, he thought the horrors that he witnessed there were behind him. But the death of his partner has now opened a dark hole of memories that are threatening to swallow Parker alive. Desperate to maintain his grip, he focuses on the last unsolved case his partner left behind: the brutal murder of Hymie Villarosa.

Father Bernardino Soltera is being destroyed by the present. After ministering to the gang ridden streets of East L.A. for over twenty years, he’s unable to see past the pain and suffering that drugs and violence have wreaked on his neighborhood; he’s ready to give up. But when a young girl confesses that she’s pregnant and her boyfriend will hurt her if she doesn’t get an abortion? Father Soltera decides to make one more stand.

Hector Villarosa is being mocked by the future. After being released from jail he discovers the love of his life is with another man. As the leader of his gang, losing face could mean losing his life, and the fact that detectives are now asking questions about the death of Hector’s cousin, Hymie, isn’t helping. But Hector’s bigger problem is the demon that has followed him out of jail and on to the mean streets of East L.A.

Three men, one neighborhood. All about to discover that the veil between this world and the next is razor thin.

About the Author:

Tony Faggioli was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and raised in Los Angeles, California. He graduated from the University of Southern California, where he majored in Public Administration and interned in Washington, D.C. at The White House. After college, he transitioned to corporate America before deciding to start his own business. One day, he realized that nothing brought him anywhere near the amount of joy as the writing he did from grade school through high school. So, at age 35, he decided to rekindle his passion. Since then, he’s written five novels (listed below) and begun his sixth. He’s a happily married father of two kids, two dogs and a pretty awesome goldfish.

Contact Links: WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreads

My Review:

I didn’t realise that this book was the first in a second trilogy when I agreed to do the review – as a rule I try not to jump into the middle of series if I can help it but this book may change my mind for me. I loved it!

I love the mix of stories from the ‘good’ and ‘bad’ perspectives with the mix of supernatural too. It’s definitely a fast paced book and one that kept me reading well past my bedtime, although sometimes I did decide to stop in case of nightmares! J

The characters are expertly written and were very interesting and helped me to immerse myself into the story very quickly. I love a good plot twist and this book didn’t let me down – I would not be surprised if a film company eventually picks this up, as it would make a great movie!

Thank you so much to RABT and Tony for giving me the opportunity to read this book – now I need to go back and read the others that came before it!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

RABT Book Tours & PR

Rating:

Please follow and like us:

Happy Publication Day: The Secret by Katharine Johnson

Today is Publication Day for “The Secret” by Katharine Johnson.


This is the second book set at Villa Leonida, the house at the centre of The Silence which was published last year but it’s a standalone story.

In The Silence some bodies were discovered at Villa Leonida, an idyllic holiday home, during a children’s game of hide-and-seek during a family holiday. They’re found to relate back to the summer of 1992.

A year on, in The Secret, the villa has been put up for sale. Which for elderly resident Sonia can only mean one thing – that the renewed interest and gossip will lead to the discovery of her own secret which relates to that same evening at the villa in 1992.

But while she’s desperate to keep the past hidden another resident, Carlo, can’t leave it alone. He’s determined to discover the truth about a wartime atrocity in which Sonia’s mother and his own played a part.

Blurb for The Secret:

Love, lies and betrayal in wartime Italy. Two girls growing up in Mussolini’s Italy share a secret that has devastating consequences. Against a backdrop of fear, poverty and confusion during the Second World War friendship is tested and loyalties divided. But a chance encounter changes everything. The girls’ lives diverge when beautiful, daring Martina marries and moves into Villa Leonida, the most prestigious house I their Tuscan village while plain, studious Irena trains to be a teacher.

But neither marriage, nor life at Villa Leonida are as Martina imagined. And as other people’s lives take on a new purpose, Irena finds herself left behind.

Decades later a tragedy at the villa coincides with the discovery of an abandoned baby whose identity threatens to re-open old wounds. While Irena’s son is determined to get to the truth, Martina’s daughter is desperate to keep the past hidden.

About the Author:

Katharine Johnson likes writing about ordinary people in extraordinary situations. She’s passionate about old houses and the stories they have to tell. She grew up in Bristol and has lived in Italy. She currently lives in Berkshire but spends as much time as she can in the Lucca area of Tuscany. When not writing you’ll find her exploring cities, drinking coffee, playing netball badly and walking her madcap spaniel

The Secret is published by Crooked Cat Books and is available in paperback £6.99 and kindle £1.99 here.

Find Katherine on Facebook, Twitter and on her Website.


Please follow and like us: